Scouts (10.5-14)

The Scout Section is for young people, usually aged between 10½ and 14 years. A young person can
come into the Troop at 10 and may stay until they are 14½ years old.

Scouts are encouraged to take part in a wide range of activities as part of their programme.
Participation rather than meeting set standards is the key approach, and for the Scout who wants to
be recognised for his or her achievements there are a number of Challenges awards and activity

Scouts take part in a Balanced Programme that helps them to find out about the world in which they
live, encourages them to know their own abilities and the importance of keeping fit, and helps
develop their creative talents. It also provides opportunities to explore their own values and personal

The Chief Scout Gold award is the highest award a scout can achieve. To gain this badge the scout
has to gain 9 challenge badges. These badges are not called challenge badges because they are easy
to obtain. A scout has to take part in adventurous activities, plan and take part in an expedition and
demonstrate skills in leadership and team work.

Being outdoors is important, and half the programme is given over to taking part in traditional
Scouting skills, such as camping, survival and cooking, as well as a wider spectrum of adventurous
activities, from abseiling to zorbing.

  • Gardner Troop:
    Gardner Scouts meet Monday Night
  • Douglas Troop:
    Douglas Scouts meet Tuesday Night
  • Clark Troop:
    Clark Scouts meet Friday Night
Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls